I've been thinking a lot lately. In today's world, we almost have everything at the push of a button. Quite frankly I find it somewhat ridiculous sometimes. And technology is moving so quickly, it's becoming harder to keep up with. You can buy a phone and two weeks later (I kid you not) the next latest and greatest version comes out!
Then everyone wants what other people have. I can honestly say I am completely guilty of this. For example someone could have a grand piano (I'm in love with those!!) and I can't help but want it soooooo badly! Or someone is better at something that I am and I'm jealous. We can't help!
Now here we have our (my) generation. We are becoming greedy, inconsiderate and violent. (really I could go on and on)Why? Because of television, the internet, music, and the way society is playing out. We may not know it but, TV is flashing all of this stuff in our face constantly. It's always have the greastest body, or the prettiest skin. And it's not like MTV is helping or anything. 16 and pregnant? If I got pregnant at 16 I'd get slapped in the face and grounded for life!? Not a television show!!
Here we have the matter of violence. You have all these influences around us and it's hard not to give in. Video games for example. I play Modern Warfare 2, 3 and Black Ops. Yes it is rate M and I think it would be smart if parents payed attention to labeling.... Anyway, I have my live chat on so I can talk to anyone who has there mic on. A good 95% of the people I hear talking are kids probably under the age of 13 cusing me out. That nerves me the most. You're 13 for cying out loud! You shouldn't be cusing people out or playing this game in the first place! The sad part is, this all translates into real life.
Then there's clothing. Have you walked into your local Target or JCP? I've been in the childrens clothing department and it is a MESS.. Half the clothing is stuff a teenager my age would be wearing! Ripped jeans, "sexy" tops and crap like that. What are we doing to kids these days?
1. We are spoiling the crap out of them! I know you want them to have a better life then you did, but eventually you have to realize when it's time to say no. All we are doing is teaching them that they can have whatever they want whenever they want it.
2. We are overprotective. Yes I understand with all this madness in todays society you want to keep your kid safe. I understand that. But there comes a time when you have to stop and just let things happen or let them figure it out on their own...
3. Not everyone wins... As harsh as it may sound, it's true. Come on, everyone wins sports? That in my opinion is a step to far. It's like little kids communisim. Everyone is equal. If she gets this you can have it too. As much as we wish it could work out this way, it just doesn't. Real life still goes on.
Music. The one sacred art of mine that society has managed to pervert! We have songs about sex, and songs about drugs and getting high. Seriously? Are we trying to mess people up? Raps about violence and thugery (<-- word?) You'd be suprised what kid and teens pick up through music. I pick up a lot from music. Music for me is inspiring. It shouldn't be about how you get high at parties.. Owl City (aka Adam Young) and Tenth Avenue North write amazing music. I wish more music was written this way. It's inspiring and doesn't teach you how to smoke a joint...
It's the stuff like this that sets me off. It bothers me and I hate watching society play out like this. I really wish there was an easy way to fix everything (sadly there is not). I am terriffied of my generation and what we have set up for ourselves. Are we going to crash and burn? Or can we fix the mess we've made?
Now I'm not telling you how to parent your kids, cause I'm just a teen myself. But I am noticing all of this and I want this out there, beacuse it's all true. I know a lot of people could care less, but I do care. And if I'm the only one, that's fine with me. But I can't just sit here and watch anymore. It's just driving me insane...
No comments:
Post a Comment